The Eclectic

Time moves in one direction, memory in another. – William Gibson

When Dystopia feels like home

Posted by David Leslie on February 6, 2006

On Saturday while I hammered on my project for work, at work, I threw in Code 46 which I had borrowed from work but had never watched. While Tim Robbins was quite cool as was Samantha Morton but they just didn’t click with each other

However, the idea and issues raised by the movie such as designer viruses, government control of movement as well as the concept of economic exiling was right up my alley. Also Song #6 from Freak Power drive one of the cooler ‘club’ shots I’ve seen in a long while.

When I told the basic layout of the story to Jean, she noted that
1. I tend to get enameled with depressing things
2. I seek out depressing things

I saw this as unfair but I will cop to the fact that I’ve been into dystopian fiction of late. The interesting thing about dystopia is that the better the material, the more the work feels like non-fiction rather than fiction. As if the work is a looking glass into how things could turn should certain trends play themselves out unchecked.

So here is a list of books worth checking out:

Snowcrash by Neil Stephenson
Futureland by Walter Mosley
The Handmaid’s Tale by Marget Atwood
Jennifer Government by Maxx Berry
The man in the high castle by Phillip K. Dick
V for Vendetta by Alan Moore
A canical for Lebowich by Walter Miller

Saint Lebowich and the Wild Horse woman by Walter Miller

 

Leave a Reply

 
