The Eclectic

Time moves in one direction, memory in another. – William Gibson

Rainbow Jell-O

Posted by David Leslie on May 31, 2006

We're slated to have a picnic with Wendy and Kerri on Saturday before we drive up to Cleveland for the Memorial Day holiday.Since Wendy and Kerri are making the lunch, we're kicking in the desert. I'm not a big desert guy but I want to do something really nice for them.So Jean recommends doing Rainbow Jell-O. She had it at a Mom's club function and loved it. It is an easy desert yet time consuming.

Meese:

  • 1 4oz box of Jell-O for each color of the rainbow
  • 1/2 cup of sour cream per box of Jell-O
  • 9X13 baking pan
  • TBSP measure
  • Cup measure
  • Kettle for boiling water

Steps to make

  1. You take the Jell-O and mix it with 1 cup of boiling water until it's dissolved.
  2. Pour 1/2 cup of the Jell-O in a 9X13 baking dish
  3. Place the 9X13 dish in the fridge until this sets up
  4. With the rest of the jell-o, mix in 1/2 cup of sour cream with 1 tbsp of water
  5. Once the 1/2 cup of plan jell-o has set, pour in the sour cream/jell-o mix
  6. Repeat until you have a Rainbow.

Now I should say this was the first time I had made this so I had the newness of the recipe as well as my apprehension of mixing sour cream with jell-o.

The first box of jell-o didn't dissolve all the way. Next the first layer I poured the sour cream mix in too soon causing a psychedelic like swirl. The rest of the time it's just time consuming. I was up to close to 3 am.

Needless to say, I left a box out (orange) and while Jean and John liked it, I wasn’t sure about Wendy and Kerri (some of this was my projection).

Leave a Reply

 
