The Eclectic

Time moves in one direction, memory in another. – William Gibson

That’s just our runner writhing in pain

Posted by David Leslie on July 11, 2006

Softball this year has been pretty much a wash.

First I had to leave my team for the past two seasons due to the logistics of going from Dublin to Gahanna to Westerville while mixing in a stop to my in-laws to drop off John. While I was able to do last year, the road construction and my work hours just made it too much of a pain.

Thanks to a buddy of mine who used to work with me at OCLC, I was able to join his team which plays at Burliner on Wednesdays. My first game of the season was something to forget. I struck out swinging my first at bat. That’s how bad my timing was off. We were slated to play two games that night with an hour break between them. While the rest of the team headed to our sponsor’s place (Victories), I acted as spotter to let the guys know when the game between ours was wrapping up. I also took advantage of the break between games to hit the batting cage to find my stoke.

By the 2nd game I put a few balls in play and while I was still disapointed by how I did, it was an improvement.

The next game was against the first place team and was also a double header. Most of the guys on the opposing team I know from playing against them in Westerville. An older team, these guys play at a very high level and can both mash the ball out of the park as well as base hit you to death. They also roll to the yard with some of the best bats on the market.

First game we have to forfit due to the umpire not giving us a grace period for our 9th guy to show. The next game started once we picked up 2 guys and the ump got back from the snack bar. After hitting my first nice shot of the year the batter behind me hit a roller to short. I knew the 2nd baseman had a bad knee and since I was forced out at 2nd already, I did the honorable thing and ducked out of the baseline to give a clear throwing lane.

This is when my back just locked. This had never happened before but this was a classic ‘I can’t stand up without major pain’ grab for the lower back. Thing was we didn’t have any subs so I had two more innings and one at bat (a so so ground out trying to backside to the left field side to avoiding twisting my back pulling the ball) before a sub did get there. And thank God that sub was Murphy, a man who I’ve seen just crush a ball when I’ve played against him. I made no bones about giving up my slot to him and we won the game.

The past five days I’ve been on a mixture of muscle relaxers, Aleve and Vicodin. Needless to say with one game left, my season is over.

The irony, the team we played is sponsored by a chiropractor.

Leave a Reply

 
